Rosemary's Blog


Roger Herndon’s 20th Angel Day
August 2, 2011, 1:39 pm
Filed under: Family and Friends

Twenty years ago today, two Army officers in uniform pulled into our driveway with the worst news a parent can hear. We still miss our dear Roger everyday. His memory is alive in our hearts. We just hope others have sweet memories of him as well. I share this haunting performance in tribute to Roger Herndon, U.S. Army, 6/25/70- 8/2/91. http://www.flixxy.com/trumpet-solo-melissa-venema.htm#1

Donna Herndon, Mother of Roger Herndon

My memories of Roger Herndon come entirely from his parents, Woody and Donna. Although I never knew Roger on this physical plane, I came to know and love him over the past nineteen years because Woody and Donna belonged to the same bereavement group we did, Fellow Travelers. Our dear friends Jim and Dinah Taylor brought all of us together at her annual J.I.M.’s (Joining In Memory) Conference in Williamsburg, KY. This photo of Roger at West Point was my first glimpse of this remarkable young man. He was killed while on active duty and will be remembered lovingly by every Fellow Traveler that have come to know him through his precious parents.

Rosemary C. Smith
August 2, 2011


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have been looking for you for a long time now. Not sure if this will find you. I just want to thank you with my whole heart and soul. You reached out to me. On a path I had no idea I would ever go one or how to cope. But you helped me more than I can ever say. And without you I would have never made it on this journey. I just want to thank you with my whole heart and soul. For giving me a glimmer of hope. For giving me the info that I needed to survive. For giving me the help I needed. For being there. And there are no words to express the loss that you have suffered.
I just want to thank you for reaching out to me. And helping me along this horrible journey that I am still dealing with.
Thank you for being there. Thank you for understanding. Thank you for giving me the recsources of how to still live.
I owe my life to you.

Comment by Jeanne Lucke

Dear Jeanne,
Today is the first time I have seen your post dated August 11th, 2011. Please send me an e-mail to childrenofdome@cs.com I would love to be able to contact you. I have wondered about you since I sent you a packet after your son Nick died on July 23, 2004. Please e-mail me so I can have your address.

Love,

Rosemary

Comment by Rosemary C. Smith




Leave a comment